Newton 2 Rainhill Town 3 - Pyke Cup

Another trip to the Wirral to watch some football. This time it proved to be an exciting cup match. At 1-1 the home goalkeeper was sent off but it didn't make a great deal of difference and Newton looked the better side and were leading 2-1 with 10 minutes to go. However the Newton players were visibly tiring  and Rainhill came from behind with two late goals to win 3-2.

I wasn't sure which photos to use and I kept quite a few.I added a couple of extras to give a feel for the match . The main one shows Newton defending a free kick. One extra shows the ground (it was surprising to see a stand) and the other is a save from the Rainhill goalkeeper. 

As a bonus I bumped into a friend who I hadn't seen for several months. He is a Chester fan and very keen bird watcher. It was great to catch up and have a chat.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 75 -  Wiltshire. 5 miles walked. 297.7 miles completed

After leaving Chippenham behind I crossed the M4 which feels like a significant milestone. Continuing on the A429 I passed through Lower Stanton St Quintin and handily finished near the New Flying Monk Brewery so tried virtual pints of their Elmers and Mighty Monk beers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.