Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Us Three

It rained all day and I was happy to stay home today and work on projects…Decided to make an artist book (as opposed to Blurb) of the disasters of the last year and what I want to get rid of, out of my life.   So I black gessoed the pages of a small kids board book ..there will be 14 pages plus covers to put my private negative thoughts away… covid, masks, boarded up closed buildings, X-rays of broken bones and hearts, everything shut down (which includes my all time favorite pandemic video I couldn't agree more with...and makes us laugh still..(extra photo.)  We’ll see if I can come up with 14.   I’ve got a cover and 4 pages now.  


But it’s not all bad, of course!!   Some of the good things are in my Seattle Covid Blurb books…. and just one of these things is renewed connection with just a few old friends.   I don't need many.  This trio in the blip today met in spring of 1959 as we pledged the same sorority.  We’ve remained friends for 62 years from 3 different parts of the country.   We’ve tried to meet every so often and the 3 of us have managed Chicago, NYC, Washington DC, Philadelphia, for getaways.  And others for just 2 of us,... The second extra is the first picture we took with this pose (altho yes, this one is backward…)  the year we all lived together  (with one other who loses touch) in Old Town, Chicago after graduation from the UM …this would be the winter of 62-63..Yes, a glazed over look at a party...  I love this series and how we have changed and gotten old(!)  and now we just zoom once a month or so and lament the fact that it’s so uncertain where and when we can meet again or if we'll be able to...….so I made this one up…they sent me their photos and I put us in the PNW for a change.   (I know not exactly perfect with matching skin tones and shadows, but it is what it is.)  The scholar (the sociology professor on left…she is just this year retiring from U of Pa.!) the artist and the writer.   Without the pandemic, we wouldn’t have been in touch this much.    It's been very fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.