carliewired

By carliewired

Hull's Wood

Grey sky and wet snow
A damp walk along Fish Creek
Not many brave souls

~ carliewired

L said it was snowing by 4:30 AM. It has continued through the morning - light and wet. I stalled, leaving the house just after 11 AM to make this a quick one. The snow is not sticking on the roadways. It is sliding off my vehicle as the temperature is just above freezing.

I was only one of a very few vehicles parking at Hull's Wood. I took the broken pathway north from the parking lot along Fish Creek. Some years ago the area was flooded tearing away part of the paved pathway. Fencing remains to keep people off the bank. 

I walked as far as the vehicle bridge and used its ledge to take a photo over the creek. Three ducks were moving along in its flow away from me. My bleary telephoto shot is not very clear. I think these are merganzers. 

I actually put my boots on in the parking lot today. I didn't want to ruin my leather shoes in mud puddles. I spotted a set of footprints off to the side of the path. No doubt someone was trying to spare their footwear, too, so they chose the snow over the mud. 

We are promised an improvement in weather over this coming week. By Friday, it may well feel like summer once again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.