Birds and Beasts

It's anyone's guess
what the weather will be 'cause
it changes each hour! 

~ carliewired

I was up before 6 trying to decide what to do this morning. The sky looked uncertain. I needed groceries and my blip. How would I manage both if it started to rain? 

I finished my coffee and headed off with my camera. There are road works in progress in several locations so picking a route is a challenge. I found my way to the grocery store, then off to McArthur Island without incident. The sky was threatening rain but nothing had transpired. 

I stopped to park by the foot bridge and left my quilted heart on a bench there. (The 5 for the week are all cut from the same cloth.) I was surprised by the number of small birds flitting in and out of the trees. I caught a white-crowned sparrow clinging to the fence. I got a shot of my mountains across the slough. A beautiful little warbler landed on the handrail near me. Its yellow patches are very distinct. Ducks were making full use of the slough's low water. 

I moved on to the south side of the island hoping to find marmots at play. They seemed rather skittish today. They would venture up from the river bank to graze in the grass, but suddenly scamper back down the bank as if they were afraid. I had to wait them out. I stood with my camera until they reappeared. I edged up to the bank and looked over at them being careful not to take a tumble. Mission accomplished, I headed for home dodging the road reconstruction. 

I will be home today. I may get my daughter's assistance with some small jobs. 

We have a mainly cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 19 C. The sky is very unsettled. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.