Tranquille River

With the promise of
a lovely Sunday, I was
out the door early

~ carliewired

I was up making my coffee at 6 AM. The view from my deck showed  beautiful colouring behind my mountains. I sat back in my recliner with my big mug and waited for the sun to appear. At 7:30 I was out the door with my camera. 

Most of our north shore is to be avoided today. We have a major event underway called "Boogie the Bridge" in its 25th year. It raises money for charity. Although I applaud their efforts and enthusiasm, I don't really want to tangle with running hordes in red T-shirts, so I headed west towards Kamloops Lake. 

I drove out to Tranquille River, a salmon habitat near Kamloops Lake. I was delighted to see spring green on all the leafing trees. The river is running fast already. There are calm pools and little waterfalls. I think I can see beavers' work further upstream. The saskatoon bushes are in bloom everywhere. They look especially beautiful beside the river. Their lacy white blooms show up brightly in the landscape. Later, these bushes will provide berries for wildlife (and people).

I drove on to the landing where I can see the railway cut in Battle Bluff. Through the cut I can see the blue of Kamloops Lake. I turned around there and thought I could see movement beside the tracks. There was a small flock of big horn sheep grazing. Just the mamas were there. I pushed my telephoto to capture something of them. 

I was home by 8:30 with my photos. I'll finish my quilted hearts I've made for release this week. I'm hoping my daughter and I will have brunch together. 

We should have a mix of sun and cloud today with a chance of showers and a high of 22 C. This could be our first warm day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.