Along the North River

A gloomy start to
the day that had promised to
be a sunny one

~ carliewired

I had a look out my windows at 6 AM and was very discouraged to see a cloudy day instead of the sunny one that had been forecast. I suspected if I was willing to wait, I might find some sun. However, I am not a patient person! 

I left the house at 8:30 being most careful to pick my route as the road repairs will continue for some days yet. I decided to have a look along Schubert Drive beside the North Thompson River. I wanted to check the river level and enjoy the greening along that portion of the Rivers Trail. 

I found a lovely pair of mallard ducks browsing through the edge of the river bank. They didn't take kindly to me stalking them, so off they flew over the river. A pair of wood ducks came along on the river. Something floating in the river drew their attention. I got their photo while they were inspecting it. I walked under the two bridges and got a shot back at my mountains. There's lots of sand to be seen. Canada geese were making a great ruckus. It took me a couple of minutes to locate them. They seemed to be arguing about landing spots on the bridge foundation. I don't understand the attraction there. I saw more of the yellow-rumped warblers. They would land in a bush and scour it up and down. They are insectivores so I guess that's what they were after. One can't miss these birds with their bright yellow accents. There was also more of the white-crowned sparrows. They were sorting over the ground. I was delighted to finally catch an American robin. I've been seeing them in the landscape for a couple of weeks now. I was happy to be able to get a photo. This must be a slow one! As I was walking back to my car, I caught a coal train coming over the railway bridge heading west. I left my quilted heart on the fence around Westmount Park. 

I'm home today. Several household items/jobs need doing. I'm not sure if I will have the help of my daughter today. It will be a nice surprise if she shows up. 

We can expect a mainly cloudy day with a chance of thunder showers in the afternoon and a high of 14 C. We should see a warming trend as the week continues. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.