Out to Mission Flats

A sunny morning
called me out to play with my 
camera - what fun! 

~ carliewired

I was up in the dark at 4:30 AM. I could see infinite possibilities when I noted the clear sky as the light came up. I made my pot of coffee, took a shot of the first sunbeams from my deck, then I was gone! 

I drove over the bridge with some hopes of catching eagles by the river in Mission Flats. As I drove up to the usual location across from the airport, there were no eagles to be seen anywhere. The eagle tree was occupied by a host of crows this morning. They were scrabbling with each other and making a lot of noise. I moved down to the end of the road. I got a panorama of the delta with Battle Bluff in the background. I looked across the river to watch a dog walker with her little pack on the beach. I drove around the loop at the end of the road and looked up just in time to catch a bird landing on a raised platform. I pulled up my camera to discover a pair of osprey setting up house there. As I watched, one osprey swooped down over me gliding towards the river. In a couple of minutes it was back with a stick in its beak. My shaky hands were challenged to get a shot of the pair as the perch is almost out of range of my telephoto. I will need to get my tripod out to see if I can do better. 
I got a photo looking across Rabbit Island to my mountains, then headed for home. I left my quilted heart on a bench along the Rivers Trail on the north shore. 

This end of the river is getting some attention these days. Earlier in the month some human remains were found near the airport. This week a body was found in the river by Mission Flats. It is not believed to be a criminal investigation. https://cfjctoday.com/2022/04/26/body-pulled-from-thompson-river-monday-rcmp-believe-mans-death-not-suspicious/

I'm in for the morning. I will get a quick visit with a couple of gal pals this afternoon. We'll sit outside in folding chairs and get caught up. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 14 C. There's a warming trend for the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.