The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Starlight on the Rails

Looking back along the road I've traveled,
The miles can tell a million tales,
Each year is like some rolling freight train,
And cold as starlight on the rails.

Utah Philips.

Driving back from an unproductive morning with nothing in my camera that excited me, I was approaching the tracks and stopped when the lights began flashing and the guardrails started coming down.The jerk gentleman behind me, thinking we could have made it across in time, flipped me the bird gave me a friendly wave to compliment my safe driving.

"Quick" I thought "get the camera out" and, wishing I had cleaned the windshield of my car, I managed to get off one lucky shot of the locomotives as they rolled through. Then I tuned the radio to an oldies station and settled back to enjoy the music. It was a very long train.

Apparently the jerk my new friend got tired of waiting and flipping me off waving cheerily one last time, pulled a u-turn and drove away.

If you got the time for a Stop/Look/Listen this is worth the 7 minutes Starlight on the Rails
....and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.