Making a great display

Nowhere on this peninsula is ever very far from the water. Mahurangi East Road runs along the ridge  more or less in the centre, and this afternoon I ran and walked from the beach house up to the ridge and then along the road and just past the neighbouring village of Algies Bay, before turning towards the coast down a path to the end of a cul-de-sac , and from the entrance on towards the Algies waterfront. I could hear the sirens sounding for the sailing school in action out in Kawau bay.

Before I got there I heard a Tui singing for a prospective mate. And then saw and heard its distinct flight sound, which allowed me to track it into a tree just beside where I was. Although it was initially a little coy, it must have decided I posed no competition as it launched into a full scale display with fluffing up its feathers and a really loud song. I hope it was successful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.