The sun arose

With my first mug of coffee this morning, I worked on solving the Guardian Prize cryptic crossword puzzle (Didn't finish it). The distraction meant that I was later than I wanted to be to leave for the Snells Beach waterfront. I was really keen to get a Sunday sunrise on ANZAC Day morning. So I ran rather faster and for longer than I have been, and ignored photo opportunities with Poaka and white-faced heron. (I also ran most of the way back, although I did walk up the 70+ steps.)

In part because of the low cloud over Kawau Island I was in place before the sun rose above the clouds. As always, I had liked earlier photos as the sunrise neared. However, when I saw that somebody (one or more) had placed a 1.5 m log (which presumably had washed up on the beach) upright in the sand, I decided to get the photo I'm blipping. Very pleased with how it has turned out. No modification, the only editing being slight straightening.

Later this morning we went South to the city to look at a couple of open homes. One is the place we had visited midweek. A 1970s A-Frame building. Small. On the west side of the Waitakere ranges, which can make it very wet. Minimal public transport into the city. A number of other issues. But not expensive as these things go in Auckland in 2021, and could provide a good project for S. Lots of trees, and a really nice feeling to it.

The other was the opposite. Less than 20 years old and nothing needing to be changed in the short term. Walking distance to the railway station. Very tidy. Lots of space. Unexciting. And significantly more expensive. 

Decisions need to be made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.