Day Thirtyone; ANZAC morning

I woke up at the time I am accustomed to, with or without an alarm (as this morning). Being awake it was not difficult to head out for an early walk. I could have satisfied the request by the RSA for everyone to stand at 0600 this morning, by standing inside the apartment (seemed a bit silly) or on the deck. 

Instead I walked over the time of a brief remote service of remembrance. The extra is of union officials from the Public Service Association (representing a number of professions including Mental Health Nurses), the Police union, and the Firefighters union, who share space in the building they are standing outside. I passed other exercisers, and a few ordinary householders when I was on streets with homes.

Nearing the end of my walk, back on Great North Road, I saw the runner heading into the sunrise. A good omen; one hopes that we are about to enter a future enabled by the sacrifices of many workers and small businesses who have been as important as essential workers (if not more so) in helping New Zealand gain control of this virus relatively quickly. They have not fought against the restrictions, and today we again had just five new cases of Covid-19 infection. Four have been clearly related to known clusters, and the other is likely also. 

On Tuesday we begin a slow relaxation of the rules. Some businesses and workers will restart work (Alert Level 3), and if there is no issue in a couple of weeks we may go to Level 2. 

Staff in our services will carry on exactly as they have been. Physical distancing, minimal touching, checking all admissions for possible symptoms, and in my case doing most of my work by Zoom meetings and emails. Some of what we have had to do may be better than what we were doing, so we are seeking the data to advise us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.