The second half of life..

By twigs

Bird Montage

I woke to find a fresh layer of snow on the tops which instantly explained my reluctance to get out of bed!  On a positive note, I slept really well and the addition of a light blanket over the duvet last night kept me toasty warm all night.  That is probably anything but newsworthy to most people, but for me it's helping me to identify what I may need if I return to this area in the depths of winter which I'd very much like to do.  

Anyway, the clouds that brought the snow cleared for about 5 minutes mid-afternoon otherwise it was a cold and wet day, perfect for staying snuggled up in the van, although I did venture out to sit amongst the nearby stand of beech forest and watch the local bird life.  The shots are pretty poor for various reasons but it's a memory jogger for me.  However, I'm a little uncertain about one of the birds.....can anyone help?

The birds are:

South Island Tomtit, Fantail (Piwakawaka)
Rifleman, ?? (a Warbler maybe?)
SI Tomtit, Bellbird (Korimako)
Rifleman, Fantail

Decided to stay another night here, despite the weather.  It's gloriously peaceful and so special to be able to stay immersed in the wonders of nature and a beautiful rugged landscape.  I love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.