Vintage picnic hamper street bounty

Ten days ago on 16th April at our garden drinks party, Melissa mentioned that she would like a vintage picnic hamper. Three days ago, beside the recycling bins at Tesco, I spotted what looked like a suitcase with a note attached to it. Alice in Wonderland style, I followed the instructions on the note and carried the suitcase home.

This evening Melissa called round to collect this wonderful street bounty. Other than a couple of items of cutlery, the contents of the hamper seem to be complete. The case is also in good working order: it just needs a wee staple for one of the catches. Melissa was very happy when she carried off her wee present from me.

Melissa was my second visitor of the day. My first was Véronique, who came this morning to inspect the garden soon after Mr hazelh and I returned from our morning walk (around Warriston cemetery). Véronique, who has a great eye for design, approved the work :-)

This afternoon I received what looked like an urgent message from work so was drawn into a couple of conference calls. I think that these conversations could have waited until I return to my desk on Wednesday, but I didn't mind helping out. I also plotted with my sisters to (we hope) hold 'Christmas' with our mother this coming Friday, either in Northumberland or in the Borders.

It's raining this evening so we have a night off watering the garden - hurrah!

Exercise today: walking (13,186 steps); 50 minutes on the exercise bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.