Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Finally!!

What an amazing day!  Finally we made it to Augusta and I was able to give my young brother Steve a hug.  It has been so long coming because of Covid and I was incredibly emotional as I drove along the Bussell Highway and saw the Augusta sign (see extra).  Just over 18 months ago, Steve and my sister-in-law Carol re-opened the iconic Colour Patch Restaurant/Cafe in August in the south west of Western Australia.  Because of Covid I have been unable to see the incredible way in which they have reinvented this local icon.  As you can see from this very joyful image, it was a moment to celebrate with a gloriously cold beer pulled by my young brother.  We have just come home from a night of revelry and I must admit I'm absolutely delighted to be home.  I will catch up with my older Big Al on Saturday when we head north to Perth.

I have added some extra images and I hope my blip buddies enjoy.  They are a snapshot of our day today.  A day that started in the majestic Karri Forest in Pemberton, my elation at arriving FINALLY in Augusta and an image of the spectacular Flinders Bay which is a beach my Mum and Dad used swim at nearly every day they visited Augusta.  This town holds a very special place in my heart and I feel very VERY close to my Mum and Dad when I'm here.  Every time I see a Pelican nearby I feel the presence of my Mum, they were her all time favourite bird, closely followed by the exquisite Blue Wrens.  I know I'll see many of them here as well.  
It has been an epic journey across Australia to see my family again and I will always be eternally grateful to the government of Western Australia for their strict lockdown measures and Border Closures.  It has been their unswerving resolve to keep the state of WA safe that has kept my family safe.  As much as I love my family, I knew they could not be in a better place during these unprecedented times.
Mauzee has been an amazing travel companion and we have both driven with a steady nerve and safely.  One day I will relate the story of our close shave as we were driving towards Esperance the other day.  It's not a tale that should be shared on such a joyous day, but suffice to say I'm so blessed to be able to share this blip with you all tonight.

I will update my travel stats tomorrow but now I'm off to bed.  It's been a day in my life I will never forget.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.