Not that Queen Mary!

Rather dull today with a chilly wind at times. I held off putting my runner beans and tomato plants outside on the deck table until after lunch in case they got blasted by the wind. At night they come back into the spare bedroom! 

Walked downtown after lunch to get some exercise and buy a paper. It's surprisingly quiet in town considering that all the shops are now open. I could see several shopkeepers standing behind their counters waiting for some trade. I think it will take a while to get used to popping into shops again. 

As I passed by the Salvation Army 'Men's Shed' in Stevenson Street my eye was caught by this lovely model of the 'Queen Mary', a Clyde steamer built in 1933 at Denny's of Dumbarton. Two years later the owners were asked if they would rename her 'Queen Mary II' as the previous name was required for a somewhat bigger steam ship! They agreed. I don't know who made this model, but unlike her namesake she has never seen the sea!

Quote of the Day:

Grace Hopper - "A ship in port is safe, but that's not what ships are built for."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.