If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

"The Footballer"

I needed some bits and pieces to bring the greenhouse up to fully functional again after the winter storms, so we made a quick dash up to a garden centre.  We knew we would need to wear masks but expected a coffee outside.  We were greeted by a gentleman just inside the doors who informed us the café and toilets were closed.  Problems with water in the toilet but they weren't allowed to open the café with no toilets.

Having discovered we couldn't get coffee and they didn't have what I needed we wandered round taking shots of flowers.  At one point Clickychick was about 1m outside the roof, suddenly I heard a noise it was a downpour of rain and hail.  She proved she can still move quickly when needed.

The title of the blip?  My entomology isn't great but I liked this shot of the Hoverfly on the flower.  I have to my own satisfaction decided it is of the genus Helophilus.   There are a number of very similar species but I think this is H trivittatus and female.  You are still wondering about "The Footballer" aren't you?   It seems the striped thorax gives those which are so marked the nickname.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.