Picnic time!

What else when on holiday!!

So I think we both slept really well. Shattered we were in bed at 10. It was chilly when I woke, but not freezing. I got up at 7.30 and made a cuppa then we decided, with rain forecast for today and tomorrow that we needed to get out before the wet stuff arrived.

After a quick muesli breakfast, we drove out through the countryside to a big Tesco new Stoke on Trent. An hour later and we drove through the city, but it was roadwork central and not pleasant. We hoped to see signs of potteries, but it was so full of diversions and hold ups, we decided to head back for coffee and cake at the caravan at 11.

It was still nice enough to sit outside which we were pleased about. Our plan, to pack up a picnic and head into the Peak District National Park. A short drive up the road, and we ended up at a nice Nation Trust park at Ilam. We parked on the far side of the car park and had our picnic away from everyone else. My mums old picnic box always comes with me. This box is so well travelled. I love it. Then a couple of hours walking round the park, along the river where we saw ducks with ducklings, and sheep with lambs. Just so many. The weather was perfect, and we even had a big ice cream! It must be holiday time! I took photos using my proper camera. Probably far too many of lambs! They are so irresistible.

On our way back we came via Ashbourne, where we stopped and looked in a few shops. Jon got a map of the area where we are camping. I got some brand new Lee Cooper jeans in a charity shop for £6. So I was happy. Then "home' for dinner, which Jon cooked - steak and chips, with key lime pie for pudding, courtesy of tesco finest. I had a welcome email from a new friend who has just read my book, and sent me an email to tell me how good she thought it was. She is insisting I write a sequel. Well, I had already been thinking the same thing, and this evening made a start, with a but of planning, but then I ditched the planning to get the first chapter written. So 1129 words done. If I can do that every day, I'll have it finished by mid June! Lol. As the last one took over 10 years to write, I suspect that is a bit unlikely, but any is better than none, and we will be heading away again in June, so I can carry on writing on the next holiday! Watch this space for the word count!!

Now I'm going to spend an hour making some mice for acorns before bed! It has been a nice day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.