100 ABSTRACTS - 19 AND 20 - ABSTRACT THURSDAY

It’s taken me sometime to realise why not much housework gets done here:

(a) I’m not a Domestic Goddess
(b) There are always more interesting things to do, and 
(c) Faffing over a Blip takes precedence, particularly over housework!

I was notified that a book I had reserved at our public library was available to be collected, so we planned our morning around that.  Mr. HCB went out into the greenhouse and garden to potter and I decided it was time to dust the bedroom because it was getting to the stage where we could write our name in the dust! 

Mr. HCB managed to accomplish all he wanted to, but my eye was taken by the way the sunlight was filtering through the window onto a glass dish and making patterns on the windowsill.

All thoughts of housework gone, I proceeded to put a glass jug inside the dish, added some coloured stones, took about twenty different shots, then fartnarkling with the shots in my Camera+ app.  After all, the theme for Abstract Thursday is “Express yourself with edits” and you probably realise by now that I am the Queen of Editing, especially with my 100 Abstracts Challenge - for the Mamie Martin Fund;  with today’s abstract and extra, this is 20 down and 80 to go!

I liked one in particular, because of the colour, which I have put in as an extra (so will count that as another one for my challenge) but Mr. HCB liked this one best, so as I don’t often upload the one that he likes, thought I would today, because he is always very helpful.  The one good thing about all this is that it certainly takes your mind off anything that's bothering you.  When I first got up, my neck was still quite sore from the work I had done in the conservatory on Tuesday, but by the time I had fiddled and faffed around, I hadn’t even thought about it.

Having decided on the shot, I then used Photoscape X on my computer to put the frame round both shots and then went back to my iPhone to add my signature, which incidentally isn’t a “manufactured one” but my own signature.  I was going to leave this until we got back from the library, but having checked what time it would be open, and finding it doesn’t open today until 1 o’clock, we decided to have a coffee and chat instead, which has given me time to write my journal entry too.

After a day of gentle rain yesterday, it is a beautiful morning with just a hint of a breeze, so I hope the sun is shining on you, wherever you are.  I love this quote and if EB hadn’t said it first, it would have been one of mine!

“My theory on housework is, 
     if the item doesn't multiply, smell, catch fire, 
          or block the refrigerator door, 
               let it be. 
No one else cares. 
     Why should you?”
Erma Bombeck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.