100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 21 - BLURRY OR WHAT?

I was intending to do a flower abstract, and did play around with my well-past-it tulips, but this one sort of jumped into my lap whilst I was at the opticians this morning.  Many of you will know that we have been going to Leightons for some years, and I have been the recipient of many John Lewis vouchers for recommending friends to go there too.  We have always had excellent service from all the staff, who are extremely friendly and helpful;  today was no exception.

Actually this week has been a “head” week for me - teeth, hair and eyes, but I wasn’t sure whether I would be able to wander around to take photographs at the opticians as I often do when I visit.  Having been greeted at the door - dutifully wearing my mask - and having used the hand sanitiser, I was asked to go and “sit in the corner”!  I did as I was told and sat there looking around, telling Kate, the Manager, that it brought back memories, to which she quipped that at least I didn’t have to face the wall!

After a while I spotted some spectacle frames on a board on the wall opposite with letters of the alphabet behind them and thought it would make a good abstract shot, so asked if I was allowed to move!  I was given permission, so took several shots then went back to sitting in the corner until I was called in to have the various scans before seeing the Optometrist.  Why is it when you are asked not to blink, the very thing you want to do is just that?  Wendy was lovely and very patient with me but it took several tries before she was happy with the scans.

Anyway, after the various scans and tests, I was told that my cataracts were not ready to be removed yet and I don’t need new glasses - so that will save a few bob!  The issues with my peripheral vision, particularly when driving, the Optometrist thought, are probably due to anxiety, which I can understand, as during the last 14 months, like many others, I haven’t driven that much.

So it’s onwards and upwards.  Having told the Optometrist that I didn’t enjoy reading as much as I used to, he recommended a special reading lamp made by Serious Readers - but as they are quite expensive, I’ll do some investigation before buying one. Has anyone reading this got one? 

Whilst waiting to see the Optometrist, after having my scans, I did play around with the shots I took and showed Kate before I left.  Her comment was, “Looks as if you should have taken more water with it!”  

So - I give you number 21 of my 100 Abstracts for the Mamie Martin Fund - and hope it’s abstract enough for you - if not, I recommend a couple of glasses of wine or a gin and tonic, whatever your tipple might be - after all it is Friday!

“12% of people with glasses 
     wear them as an attempt to see better.  
88% of people with glasses 
     wear them as an attempt to appear smarter.”
Mokokoma Mokhonoana

I wonder which category I fall into?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.