WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Walking the Girls to School

Amelia and Lucy were excited to have us walk them to school with wee Millie and big Bella May.

Lucy chattered all the way there and Amelia joined in when she could. It used to be the other way round until Lucy found her confidence.

We had a lovely day, Sabrina has taken us in hand diet wise. I let myself go a bit in lockdown with the biscuits and other carbohydrates and the odd beer. :-[]. But one of the things I didn't think about was how many calories are in my healthy, sugar free, vegan granola!
The thing is, I know about health and diet and exercise but I think I just got into a comfort food rut at the start of Covid when I was stressed about it all. Biscuits have always been my downfall and not even fancy ones, I just like McVities Rich Tea and Digestives. 
I think I just needed a nudge in the right direction to get me back on track. 
Sabrina made us a lovely salad with marinated soya chunks, lightly fried with sesame seeds and mixed with lettuce, avocado, tomato, and peppers.

We went to a local jewellery maker today to collect a pretty necklace that I am getting Sabrina for her 40th at the end of May. She had told them what she would like and he made it. It's very pretty and understated - a very fine silver chain with one tiny diamond that sits just at the collar bone. I am going to hide it in their house until the big day and then I'll let her know where it is. 

I bought new trainers today as the ones I bought in January from Vegetarian Shoes no long fit the left foot where I broke the bone so I've given those to Sabrina and I got some Nike ones that are a bit wider from Sports Direct. They feel really comfy.

Shopping feels on the whole quite safe but one woman today kept leaning across people to reach certain shoes to try on and her mask was under her nose. She didn't wait till people moved aside or say excuse me please. 

John made us a lovely Thai sweet potato and spinach curry for tea. 
Then was much laughter as the girls got a bit hyper and silly but funny. 
It is a very loud household but full of love and joy and emotion -  like a Scottish version of an Italian family. 

It's bed and story time now. Goodnight :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.