... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Mallard on a Nest

Today has been a very grey and soggy day, so this was a very welcome sign of spring!

This is a female mallard sitting on a nest! She must have eggs underneath her because she was very reluctant to move despite being far too close to people (i.e. me): the nest was right next to one of the pontoons on Mount Pond (my photo is framed between the slats that form the sides of the pontoon...). Her partner (bravely) ran away as I walked past; his flapping actually drew my attention to the nest hidden in the reeds. It is worryingly close to a frequently used path , so I hope the dogs don't disturb them overly; while it is nestled in the reeds (so doesn't catch your eye), she was within easy reach and view of the pontoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.