... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Early Light

There is better detail in large ("L")*, but then perhaps it is too tall...

I was struck by how beautiful the lighting was when I arrived at the museum this morning: this is a simple shot (a single exposure: no HDR or panorama...) which I took first thing, and the light only deteriorated during the day so I'm sticking with one of my early shots... This is one of the mezzanine galleries on the first floor of the central hall: the arches on the left look out over the central hall, and the arches on the right hold stained-glass windows. I was standing at the right hand end of this photo, looking towards the left hand end of it...

I felt quite proud of myself this afternoon: I was ambling back towards the herbarium in the afternoon when I spotted two friends (colleagues) looking out over the main hall from one of the balconies (they had friends visiting so were giving The Tour). They spotted me and waved; I was climbing the stairs below them and had my camera in my hand so spontaneously framed and took a picture. An unplanned photo of people?! They seemed pleased with it too so I'll email it to them... Progress.

*Detail highlight:
The round terracotta ornament which is spotlit at the far end of this mezzanine gallery is of two herons, one of which has caught a lizard. I'll post a photograph of it to blip one day because it really is lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.