The Weight of Ink

So. Today I had a long list of things that needed doing; we have guests arriving on Sunday... caravan needs sorting, beds making, food buying, place tidying and cleaning, and much else.

Well. I did the second coat of paint on gate and gatepost. And I made a decent lunch. And washed up. And planned menus, and shopped. And did a brisk walk. And hung out and brought in a wash.

But. Sneaked in a bit of reading before breakfast. And after lunch. And then just gave in and sat in bed reading till I'd finished this ABSOLUTELY AMAZING book, The Weight of Ink, by Rachel Kadish. I was tempted to start again at the beginning as soon as I'd finished, but I do have some vestiges of self-discipline...

How can I describe it? Definite page turner, so difficult to stop reading. Like a mystery novel, with twists and turns all through. Beautiful writing. Historical novel, so well researched, no wonder it took her years to write. Philosophical/theological musings. Utterly satisfying.

I was told off so often as a child for losing myself in books that can't help feeling guilty when I do it now. But, oh how wonderful to find a book as good as this one.

Gratefuls:
- thank-you, Rachel Kadish, for all the effort and love you put into writing this
- that, so far, Mike's been fine after the vaccine, apart from a sore arm
- the shiny red gate, a metre wider, fixed to two white gateposts; been struggling with a bit of wire every time I've had to go in or out of the Land

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.