On Holiday!

I’ve been on holiday in Italy today!  Yes I have!

OK - it wasn’t a REAL holiday. I was only there virtually!  I read on someone else’s blip about the Heygo live-streamed tours and decided to join one today. There are SO many to choose from all over the world. My blip-friend in Sweden joined in too!  It started at 1145 this morning and there were people from all over the world.

The tour is NOT pre-recorded and through the chat function we could ask questions of the tour guide as she showed us the town. She was amazing - she walked and gave commentary and answered our questions all at the same time, while using a phone on a selfie-stick, or similar. The tours are free but there’s an option to leave a tip which I did.

So this beautiful destination is Riomaggiore in Italy - the first village of the Cinque Terre - the five coastal villages, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. I’ve always wanted to visit, so I got a little sampling of this unique area from the 45 minute tour.

Another option is to take live ‘postcard’ shot which you can then share with friends. I took lots of ‘pictures’ during the tour and this is one of them. OK, not taken with my own camera I guess, but I WAS there!  Kind of!

I enjoyed my tour so much I decided to join another one this afternoon. This time closer to home - a tour of the London Olympic Park - a place I’ve been wanting to visit. So I think this site will be great for researching future travels, at home or abroad.

Happy travels, friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.