A time for everything

By turnx3

Lines and shadows

We had to get up and on the road early this morning, as Roger was meeting with a vendor in Montreal, and if you dont get across the bridges into Montreal at a certain time you will sit in traffic forever. I had decided I would spend the morning at the Fine Arts Museum - unfortunately it didnt open till 11 am, so this left me with over three hours to pass, and it was a bitterly cold, though sunny morning. Roger dropped me in the vicinity of the museum, which is also close to several hotels, so I wandered along until I came across a suitable looking cafe to have breakfast and sit and read a book for a while until it warmed up some! Before going to the museum, I visited St. Patricks Basilica which was quite nearby. St. Patrick's Church was opened on March 17th, 1847 to serve the needs of the Irish immigrants who had come to Montreal in great numbers due to the famine and other troubles in Ireland. The church was built in the Gothic Revival style. The Fine Arts museum comprises three pavilions: a 1912 Beaux Arts building designed by William Sutherland Maxwell, now named the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion, the modernist Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion across the street, designed by Moshe Safdie, built in 1991, and the Liliane and David M. Stewart Pavilion. The photo is taken in the lobby area of the Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion. Roger called me around 12.30 on my cell, to let me know he was finished, and was outside, wondering which building I was in. So we met up, had lunch, then continued to explore the museum together. Afterwards we walked back to the hotel, stopping for a quick look at McGill University campus on the way. Founded in 1821, McGill is one of the oldest universities in Canada.

In the evening we went to a Greek restaurant, and then I took a few more night shots in Old Montreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.