The Fordson Major Diesel

Another vintage tractor awaiting makeover.
I headed off to the local riding school early this morning to collect some bags of horse manure. Not as well rotted as I would have liked but told to help myself so I shall keep going back, it can rot away behind my allotment shed til the Autumn. I loaded 12 bags in my little Toyota Aygo  ... he! he! he! The girls were bringing the ponies in to prepare them for what was probably a busy day. During the first lockdown, 12 months ago, the owner was desperately trying to find grazing for some of her animals, at the time she had 40. That's a lot of animals to feed and care for with no hope of getting any revenue. Back at the plot I unloaded the poo, added a bag to two plots that I shall be needing in about a months time. Sweetcorn going in 1 piece,  squash, pumpkin & courgette in the other. Bobby robin still gathering dried oak leaves for nesting. He stopped for a few breadcrumbs, soya & linseed bread today. :-) Then it was time to head to Knighton for dog walking.  A beautiful sunny morning, no chilly wind this morning which made a pleasant change. We did the usual lap of the heath plus down to see the dipper, who was nowhere to be seen this morning, but 2 female Red Breasted Merganser flew under the bridge below me. The second time I've spotted them in flight so imagine they are possibly nesting on the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.