A very wet Bank Holiday Monday.

I’m up in the loft room listening to the rain swilling it down on the roof.
Yet everything outside looks luminous green.
Glad to be in the warmth and dry.
I’ve watched a short news video presentation about the upcoming bi-centenary of the death of Napoleon Bonaparte.
Then I have 19 questions to answer for our French conversation session on Zoom this afternoon.
I’ve also downloaded some podcasts from Radio France about him.
He leaves a big legacy having put into place much of what is now modern France today.
But he reintroduced slavery in May 1802, mostly relating to sugar from the West Indies. It was abolished in March 1815.
Today there are opposing points of view as to whether his Bi-Centennial should be fêted.
But his name stands out in the annals of French history.
My French friends will no doubt have their own views about any event and how it should be presented, on May 5th.
Time for lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.