Chalkline And Shitepoke

I know that it might seem that I have gone to hell in a handcart, this is the second blip running that I've posted with a rude word in the title. These two words are names for the grey heron which refer to its habit of defecating when disturbed. Around 450 BC Aeschylus, the father of tragedy, wrote: For a heron, in its flight on high, shall smite thee with its dung, its belly's emptyings.

Jack heron took off from the far side of the lake and I captured the act. I was very interested to see that he had parted his legs, which are usually clamped tightly together in flight, to prevent his plumage getting soiled. The image top left is one of Jack's favourite places on the island. His chalklines can be seen.

PS It has just occurred to me that second part of the word shitepoke means bag as it does in pig-in-a-poke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.