helenann

By helenann

Coronilla valentina

I am staying with my Mother for a few days. I had booked a table (necessarily outdoors)  for lunch at our favourite pub but, as we set out, it was already chilly and getting windy, as had been forecast. However, we braved the  elements, helped by the loan of blankets by the pub staff, and enjoyed our lunch. It  became windier as the afternoon progressed, and since  the evening  there has been heavy rain too. The tortoise didn't get up today, staying in his bed of hay; no doubt fed up with the weather.   
This afternoon my Mother and I  looked at the webcam following the peregrine falcons which are nesting on the roof of Winchester cathedral. There are three hungry chicks which we watched consume an unfortunate pigeon one of their parents had caught. Hope the falcons are ok tonight in the gales.
We played ukuleles this evening, watching the recording of the  virtual lesson I had attended last Friday. 
In a brief  lull this afternoon, I photographed the Coronilla shrub. It is in the  pea family, and the flowers are highly scented. It blooms for many months each year, and is quite tough and fast-growing, which makes it a useful plant in the right place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.