Idling the Day Away

Today ventured further from home only for the second time this year when I visited a school friend. Her home is probably about 3 miles away, a slightly shorter distance than that of the school friend I visited in March. Then I took a nearly empty tram for the journey, today I took an empty bus. You can imagine my excitement at being abroad in foreign territory.

Across from her house is Craiglockhart Pond , part of the nature reserve there and right by the roadside a swan sat serenely on her nest while around her were eider ducks and coots with an uncountable number of tiny fluffy coot chicks.

It is a cold, wet, cheerless day, and to be out and about is a penance. I’m just glad I’m not a swan. They don’t get to have coffee and cake indoors in the warmth with chat and laughter in the equation.

As I write, there has just been a hail shower but as if to compensate, through the general miasma of gloom, the pink of the cheery trees stretching across my vision is startling in its contrast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.