Corinthian

Unexpectedly, today reminded me of when I used to be a designer.

I spent all day processing, resizing and uploading pictures. When that wasn't being interrupted by consulting about and creating a leaflet for an XR exhibition at this year's Oxford ArtWeeks it was interrupted by transferring our choir's website domain name. 

This last involved a language I don't speak:
'Apparently, 'Use new owner's contacts' option was selected for this Ownership Change request. Let me point out that it's required to enter some additional details when registering .UK domains (these details are called extended attributes) and that is why you have to choose 'Use Current Contacts' option when the domain is pushed between accounts. Since your primary account contacts do not contain any extended attributes, Ownership Change submitted with 'Use new owner's contacts' option will not go through. Please have the current domain owner cancel the active request and submit a new one with the right option ('Use Current Contacts') selected.'

I replied that I sing alto.

To Anna Support-Person's huge credit her reply was 'I am sorry that you are facing such inconvenience.'

I cut and pasted the whole chat to the current domain owner and at his third attempt, the domain name was transferred. It costs £10 a year. I really hope Anna was paid more than £10 for her time and patience with me. I know for sure that the current domain owner's time wasn't paid for, any more than mine was.

Quite like being a designer, really.


The photo is nothing to do with any of that. I spotted it this evening on my way to a skip next to which a builder clearing a house had promised me he'd stash any blue pavers he found.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.