Spring

In the eleven months that I've been digging rusty metal, glass and broken china out of the garden, I've also been unearthing bulbs. Some I threw back into the soil, almost at random, and some I put in dark bags waiting to decide where they should go. I also acquired some bulbs last summer which I intended, before all the building timings went haywire, to plant in the autumn. I checked the bags of bulbs in February and almost all were sprouting. Someone who knows much more about plants than I do told me to get them into earth just as soon as I could. So I did, and now I have daffodils budding in the apple-graft pots (extra), grape hyacinths jostling with mizuna and these crocuses. Spring all over again. I guess it's been good for them that it's been so cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.