The end of the line

S and I travelled to the city this morning and home again this evening. Because she would be using the car during the day (meaning that I didn't need to be early enough to get a park in the senior doctors parking area), we left quite a lot later than I usually leave. Rather than worse, the congestion was significantly less. 

She then got the two lads to various appointments starting early in the day and ending late. Young L had a really long (two hours) first session with the orthodontist. A lot of discomfort (mouth open for so long) and frank pain as the braces were attached. All borne stoically.

She was tired by the end of all that. Rather than have her get in the car again to drive into the city to collect me, I chose to try out the trains. 12 minute walk from the unit to Grafton Station. I was about to try to work out how to buy a ticket, when I had a realisation. I have a Gold Card, which gives me free public transport except before 0900 weekdays. Checked that out with the train conductor (I had lucked into arriving at the station only a couple of minutes before the train to Swanson came into the station), and was told I didn't need a ticket. He didn't ask to see my card; meaning I must look my age. 

I was able to read a whole paper on the trip out to Swanson. On the use of a smart phone app for self monitoring; didn't reduce re-admissions, or durations of stay, or indeed make any significant difference. Except that more of those with the app felt more relaxed and more positive about managing their disorder. Interesting.

My photo is of the old Swanson station, now housing a cafe. At the other end of the platform, the new station is automated. A 15 - 20 minute walk to daughter C's home, where I received big hugs from the boys, got seriously sniffed and licked by the dog, before S and I drove back to Snells Beach.

ADDED: Had the second shot of the COVID vaccine in the morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.