ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Elected

But not by me. Not only do I not fully understand the role of a Police and Crime Commissioner, but I don’t know who the present incumbent is, who is standing for the position now and what the differences are in their policies. In short, I don’t really fancy donning a mask and mingling with others in a church hall, just to put a cross in a box, based solely on who’s name I prefer! I appreciate that doorstep canvassing is not really possible at the moment, but I would have thought that we might have had a few leaflets through the door in the run up to today.
I appreciate that in other parts of the U.K. there is slightly more going on than the election of a new PCC - Scottish Parliament, London Mayor, some local councils, to name but a few. And if I lived in one of those areas, I’m sure I would have exercised my democratic right to have a say as to who is in charge.
But do I - should I - care about who gets paid to do a job I don’t understand, and which only seems to exist because our current blame culture demands somebody should be able to hold somebody else to account? No.
Instead of going out to vote, I have once again spent a goodly part of the day taking care of my health. A five mile walk this morning and a swimming session this afternoon is surely going to be better for my future well being than putting a random mark on a slip of paper.
And, yes, I do appreciate that the right to vote is something not everyone has. But surely the mark of a truly democratic society is the freedom NOT to vote if so inclined. It will be interesting to see what the voter turnout figures are today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.