Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

5.08 am

..well, that's what the camera says, though neither of mine are accurate or ever have been and I'm too lazy to work out how to change them ;))

Suffice it to say, it was very early.  And frosty.  When I looked through the curtains the moon was just starting to rise.  It got me out of bed and I walked down to the reserve, which I found full of mist to head height, with this wonderful streaky pink sky.  I saw an almost invisible deer whisking away in the white stuff.  The male sparrowhawk was sitting completely still near the top of a very tall alder but, just as I began to hope I might bag an (admittedly rather poor) shot, a wood pigeon shot past and he was after it in a flash.  Have no idea if - at only two-thirds the size of the pigeon - the hawk brought it down.  Probably.  He totally disappeared.

The rest of the morning was spent doing organisational type jobs and this afternoon I met a friend for coffee - still outside and rather cold, but at a cafe table!!

Finally, there was a stupid voting kerfuffle (local elections), cooking supper and printing out the dreaded blood test, making sure the consultant has it for the morning when I talk to her.  Quite enough for one day!

Have a happy Friday, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.