Ornithogalum

nutans agg. I didn't know I had that plant in my lawn. We call it "Aftonstjärna" or 'Evening star'.

I had an extraordinary experience today in enjoying a visit to the garage with my car. At the latest service of my car towards the end of november last year, I was handed a piece of paper saying that one of my tyres was unevenly worn and needed checking. Besides, at least two of my tyres was worn out and needed replacing. A quick summary led me towards a bill of between £300-500. My M.O.T. is coming up so I thought I needed to do something about it. There is one company in Kalmar that does this kind of complicated service of adjusting wheel angles and other complicated things. 

The guy was super friendly, easy to talk to and we shared masses of interests but above all he was professional in his field. His very expensive equipment quickly told him what was wrong  and he knew what to do about it so the whole thing was fixed in half an hour while he offered me coffee and a nice time. He said the wheel settings were wrong by a lot and he could explain the effect of that which meant a lot of wear on the tyres and it would make the car unstable in ways that I could recognise. He said I would notice the difference during the first 300 metres. I thought he was exaggerating but he was right, I felt, for the first time, how stable the car was when driving. Incredible! And, he told me that my tyres would easily last another season if I didn't drive more than I normally do."Those garages wants to tell you your tyres need changing because they make a lot extra on that". Says he, who also sells tyres. He charged me £150. Guess who I will go back to when my tyres really needs changing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.