Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bluebells at Hatchlands

Okay, I admit, I am getting a little obsessed with trying to photograph bluebells properly. I have been photographing them nearly every day for the past two weeks  and I am yet to get a photo that I really like. Certain things help, like a telephoto lens, a polarising filter, a dense display of the flowers...but at the end of the day you need a pretty woodland to show them off in. These days with woodland management allowing fallen trees to rot and remain on the ground, the woodland floor looks a bit messy and cluttered, which does not help to make good bluebell images as there is so much debris cluttering the composition.

This afternoon I went to Hatchlands Park, a National Trust property near me that is famous for its bluebells. I have been gone there every year for the past 15 years to photograph the bluebells, although last year I did not go due to lockdown. Today it all looked a little different and slightly commercial - signs pointing you in the direction of the woodlands (which is at least a mile from where you park the car), a Covid necessary one way system and a new pathway that is roped off so your composition is a bit limited if you try to avoid the ropes. The bluebells are certainly very dense there, a true purple carpet - see the first extra - but the woods are not as pretty as what I found yesterday on my walk - see the second extra from yesterday. 

Today the government has announced the countries on the 'green list' to which we are allowed to travel without having to quarantine on returning home (although still need to take a Covid test). The list will be reviewed every 3 weeks which is good as Greece (and many other popular destinations for Brits) is not on there and we have booked a holiday to Crete - although it is fully refundable, the only reason why we booked it. 

Election results from yesterday's voting are starting to come in and it seems more people support Boris and his Conservative party than they are prepared to admit as they are doing well so far! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.