Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Twins!

What a day - we woke up to a steady rain so we did not rush out for our walk with Xena as she hates the rain. By the time we went it had stopped and was just a bit of an occasional drizzle. 

Later, when I was in the kitchen I noticed that Xena was transfixed by something outside - it was a pigeon sitting right up against the glass door, with Xena on the other side of the glass. I thought it must have flown into the window as it looked a little stunned. However, it moved away from Xena and went and sat somewhere else. When Gavin came into the room a while later I told him about the pigeon and he went to the window to have a look at it - unfortunately by now something had viciously attacked it, there were feathers everywhere and it had been decapitated, its head and part of the upper spinal column were on the lawn while the body was still where it had been sitting. Poor pigeon, probably due to a magpie? 

Gavin had to go drop off some documents at a laywer's office in another town so I went with him for the drive, hoping to find some yellow rapeseed fields along the way. I never saw any but I did see sheep and lambs, so that's my photo for today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.