Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Tulips

Today is the 75th anniversary of VE Day. Sadly the country cannot hold their usual celebrations but there have been some good efforts despite lockdown. VE Day was such a momentous and joyous occasion for a certain generation, I fear that the younger generations will never quite understand how important that day was. I was shocked to read the other day that some school pupils - not British - had never heard of the Holocaust.

Being a Bank Holiday it has felt like Saturday all day. I took some other photos on my morning walk and only when I got home did I realise it was Friday and so should rather take photos of flowers. Our tulips in the garden are fading quickly, starting to drop all their petals now, so I thought I should photograph them for perhaps the last time this season.

If anyone is hoping that Sunday's briefing from the PM will have any dramatic changes to our lockdown situation they will be disappointed. I doubt much will change, he will allow small changes that have actually already happened as people are getting lockdown fatigue - more cars on the road, many small service businesses working again, garden centres possibly opening. I received a text from the dog walker to say that services are being resumed from Monday. I think in those situations where small companies are on the edge of going bankrupt they are finding ways to work again. Gavin has told his staff to continue working from home, and if they choose to go in to the office they have to sign an indemnity in case they try to blame the company if they contract the virus. Many of his staff are complaining about uncomfortable chairs to work on from home, screens that are not as good as the ones at the office,  so the company is having to address all these issues. If someone falls down the stairs while working from home will they be covered by company insurance? Different times, and many new problems to think of. 

I have just discovered these Norwegian series on iPlayer (they were on BBC4 ) 'Twin' and 'State of Happiness' - both excellent. I can't quite get in to the last series of Homeland, I am finding it a bit boring and samey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.