Toby’s Raleigh

So there I was hanging around outside the gent’s toilets in Kensington Gardens* when I spotted an immaculate old school chromium plated bike. A fellow emerged from the block and set about unlocking it. I engaged him in conversation and said that I admired his steed. He explained that it was a 1953 Raleigh which was chromium plated in the factory when it was originally made. 

Toby went on to say that the old fashioned rod brakes are useless when it rains and that the bike takes ages to stop. But with that immaculate finish I wouldn’t want to take it out in the wet. I thanked Toby as he went on his way and promised to send him a copy of the picture.

Then onward to the Serpentine for a burger by the lake. Home via Selfridges Food Hall to buy some lemon sole for this evening which is now sizzling in the pan. A good day.

Footnote: Later in the evening my sis rang me and asked me if I knew who it was that I photographed. I looked him up and to my shame I hadn't realised I was taking a picture of the brilliant photographer Toby Glanville. Probably just as well I didnt know at the time or I might have got stage fright. Fortunately he has replied to me that he approves of the portrait. Phew.



* I was waiting for my sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.