A Long Day

I spent much of the day with my mom today. She woke up with a bad toothache and her regular dentist wasn't working today since he had a bad reaction to his vaccination. So I called around and found an emergency dentist near where she lives in Vancouver. Turns out she has an infection in her tooth and will need to make a decision about whether to have a root canal and replacement tooth (at age 93?) which was suggested, or simply an extraction with a spacer sort of device. I spent the rest of the day with her, and my siblings all came by mid-afternoon. It took a long time to get home in the Friday afternoon traffic...but it's all ok. I'm home, it's lovely but cool and everyone is safe. Dad's doing a little better and we're trying to figure out all of the logistics. Lots of emotions, but we seem to be getting along as best as we can.

I did get a quick walk in this morning. My neighbor has a gorgeous poppy that I have lusted after for years. Now that I'm turning my front perennial border into a much drier garden, I can probably grow poppies. They did not like the summer irrigation that we did in the past and they rotted. A lovely silver lining! You'll see that it fades rather beautifully in the extra!

Thanks again for your lovely support and comments about my family. I'm eternally grateful to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.