Comin' to get you!

Having reason to get out of bed at 5am today I noticed a bright glow in the NE and looking out of the spare bedroom window saw an amazing sky - my extra today. 'Red sky in the morning, shepherd's warning', came to mind and we've certainly had a mixed day - strong wind, rain and cold. As I write at 5pm it's actually still and dry - just dull.

I haven't been beyond the deck today, so had to look around for something different to Blip. A while ago I bought a plant of what I think is Rhipsalis cassutha, a South American cactus which grows in the rain forest. It has very slender hanging round stems and cream bells when in flower. Last year I noticed that a well-known chain store had what seemed to be a couple of different species, all named, as is expected, merely as Rhipsalis; that at least is a step forward from 'Green plant'! One day I noticed that the plants had been moved to a new shelf, leaving behind several broken stems on the floor beneath. Waste not, want not, I thought!

This is one of them - looks rather like a spooky hand reaching up to grab you, but this cluster of stems is less than an inch long. Because they like regular watering, but hate becoming soggy, I grow mine in open compost with the pot sitting in the top of a tall drinks glass - on my regular litter-picking rounds I sometimes find these glasses out in the street outside pubs! I can water them and the spare water immediately flows through and drops to the bottom of the glass. 'Only collecting rubbish, officer!' Not that we ever see an officer, of course. Anyway, I thought it would make a different Blip!

Quote of the Day:

Joyce Meyer – "Being negative only makes a difficult journey more difficult. You may be given a cactus but you don't have to sit on it“

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.