Combi31

By Combi31

Young Stag

Got up with honourable son N01 at 05h30 this morning to go to one of my favourite places - St Nicolas de La Grave.

It was almost warm when we got up, so mild.

When we got to the lake, it was just getting light and there were a lot of deer browsing on the grass between the plane trees, although they were a long way away.

I wanted to try out my new portable hide - which is actually a hunters hide, but does a great job for photographs.

The first test was the kingfisher test - which it passed with flying colours, as a kingfisher perched on a branch not 3 meters from the hide.

Then later, this young roe deer stag (see it LARGE here) came to the water's edge to drink - he was not at all nervous and only a matter of 5 or 6 meters from the hide.
He only ran off when I pressed the shutter button, but I still managed to get this shot, although there a few branches that got in the way of the photo.

I'm really impressed with the hide, which is the same principle as a 2 second tent.

We (Hon. Son N°1 and I) talked about trying the hide up in the mountains and getting some shots of golden eagles and vultures - this looks like a plan in the making ...
I will be back, with hide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.