Mother's Day

Quick blip as I am studying and don't want to distract myself TOO much.

Happy Mother's Day Mother if you are reading this! I plan to call in a bit.

My Mum was given a ring by my Grandmother which had been passed down by my Gran's Mother. My Gran asked for it back to wear at a family event (possibly a funeral) and my Mum had no problems giving it her back as it was hers to start with. It used to have Rubies in it (!!!!) but she didn't like them so she had them replaced with Sapphires. We never found out what happened to the Rubies.....maybe they are lying somewhere never to be discovered in a tin, under the floorboards of a house none of us have access to any more........

Just before I got my first degree my Gran gave me the ring. I looked after it and got it cleaned and all the stones reset....then my Mum asked if she could have it as it had sort of bypassed her.....no probs. She has had the ring for a few years now and recently when she came to visit me she gave me the ring back for good. Feels like it's been all over the place (it is relatively well traveled actually)but I am happy to be reunited with it and it seems very fitting to be wearing it on Mother's Day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.