Job Adverts - 1973 style

It's late and I'm tired, so this must be quick!

Woke early and was so pleased to see the sun streaming into my room. I got up and made a cup of tea for me and mum, and then packed my bits into my bag. Once up and downstairs I planned a few jobs. First one hoovering the stairs, never a straightforward job! Then a break at 10 to eat my breakfast and listen to The Archers. While also looking through an old copy of the Hoddesfon Mercury and the job adverts caught my eye. Almost all stipulating the sex or age of the required applicant. One requiring A level maths and physics for a woman of 18 to 25, but no such requirement for the same job for the male advert just below it. Amazing how things change!

I had some text correspondence with Manda who kindly invited us to dinner, so we only needed a small lunch. I cut the grass at the back and front, and then fixed the lock on the side gate, which mum has not been able to close properly. Then I dug out a few more raspberry canes, and a flag iris.

I packed up my car with all my bags and we drove over to Manda's. She cooked a lovely dinner. But as I had to drive home I needed to leave quite soon after dinner, which felt a bit rude, but I did apologise!

Left at 5.45 and arrived home at 8.25 which was quite good going for me. We watched Call the Midwife on catch up, and will save that other new drama for another evening. Tired now, so need to go to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.