Marionb

By Marionb

Not The One That Got Away....

It was a quiet Mother's Day spent in the garden doing some work but also just sitting and watching the birds. This little one caught my interest as there had been a lot of activity on the top of that arbour and I wondered if a nest was being built. I still don't know if that is nest-building material in its beak; it is hard to tell what it is..but we shall see if a nest develops. Opinion, more educated than mine, suggests it might be a female goldfinch?  A real cutie, and she obligingly posed, so made the cut for today's blip                                                                                                            The one that DID get away? A beautiful hummingbird! I had just been lamenting today that I never get hummingbirds. We get them up at our cottage further north but I have never been able to attract them here. I decided to take one more break sitting on the deck watching birds before getting dinner ready. I had just sat down when a bird swooped past and landed in my burning bush right in front of me!  A hummer! Of course, my camera was not ready, but I just snapped anyway and after that one snap? He was gone!  Disappeared. The photo is unusable - very fuzzy - but in case he doesn't ever come back, I have at least a record of his visit! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.