For the Birds...

Today was devoted to the love of birds. My daughter and SIL handed me a pair of binoculars and took me to Rondeau Provincial Park on Lake Erie, a renowned and popular birdwatching destination that every May celebrates the annual songbird migration with their Festival of Flight. 

We went in search of warblers..and found several...I was entranced...such beautiful birds...my favourite? The Blackburnian..but I also loved the  Yellow Warbler, the Yellow Rump, The Magnolia, and the Chestnut -sided. the Rose Breasted Grosbeaks , the Orioles, and the different woodpeckers.. whew!  BUT, there was no way to photograph them..the were all high in the very tall trees..Look up, look WAY up - which meant going home with no photos and a very sore neck!  but oh so worth it...

One unexpected surprise along the trail was a Blue Tailed Skink..a real treat to see one of those!  - and I did get photos of it..(extra).. 

En route home, we stopped at "Joe's Woods" - 50 acres of woodland carpeted at the moment with white trilliums and some with colour and pattern variations (extra) 

When we did get home?...what to do? Photograph birds at the feeders! There is always action there - no end to photo-ops...and this WAS a day devoted to love of birds...so of course, I featured one in the main. I did not include the Oriole, the Downy and the Red-bellied woodpeckers, the flocks of blue jays that swarm in every day to empty the feeders, or the one hummingbird who showed up today!  

It was an amazing day...and I am now anxious to get out and buy myself a good pair of binoculars..I fear that I am hooked on yet another hobby! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.