Where's My Mother?

Celebrating Mother's Day by taking a break from her pups? I have no idea, but it seems she wasn't home...as this little fellow appeared to be quite alone..  

I am celebrating the day at my daughter's house in the country and it has been a wonderful day..the highlight of which, if not the turkey dinner, was coaxing this little guy out of his den to have his photo taken! 

This fox den is very close to the house and has a family of a mom and 5 pups...and my daughter says that if you happen to look over at the edge of the ravine at the right time, you will see all five out for play time! That wasn't happening, so we just stood there above the den waiting until we were noticed..we heard quiet little barks and then a wee head peeked out..and as curiosity got the better of him, step by step, he ventured out to take a good look..got quite comfortable,  had a wee sit down and continued to stare at me while I snapped a few photos...Wow..that made my day! 

My daughter and SIL live on a large piece  of land which includes ravines, a creek, open fields, a pond and woodland trails ...and of course, fox dens..and so there is no end to blip-ops!  I spent the afternoon wandering in the woods down by the creek and around the marsh checking out the flowers and snapping endless photos of birds at the feeders..but with a cute fox pup to post, I will save bird blips for another day...

We ended our day down at the pond - a great place to sit and think or read or watch the birds, or even fish... The pond has two types of fish - bass and blue gills..and today's catch included three bass and a blue gill - (extra)  ..Of course, they were all thrown back in; my SIL is a "catch and release" type of fisherman...but that blue gill was just too cute to not blip...so it had to have its photo taken before being released!    

All in all it was a wonderful Mother's Day ...I got to spend time with my daughter and SIL, had a great time watching and photographing the wildlife and was served a delicious turkey dinner..... What more could I wish for?

Tomorrow we go birding...an adventure on which I shall learn many new things.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.