Today's Distraction...

Today I had only one important thing I had to do  - pack to go away for a few days...but of course, I got distracted. 

When trying to find clothing suitable for everything from birdwatching to dining out to visiting a friend...I was rooting through closets I had not been into for the duration of the pandemic..Leggings and shirts..that is all I have worn for 2 years! But today I needed to find something different than that, so out came clothes I had forgotten I even had...And quel surpris, some of those things in that closet no longer seemed to fit! What's with that? 

Enter the Distraction..... 

I was off on a tangent...frustrated..on a  mission... fed up with too many clothes hanging around, but too few things I could actually wear... time to try everything on and get ruthless.. toss out anything that does not fit, or has not been worn for years, or has no hope of every getting out of that closet...

But..of course, that is easier said than done...and I spent the rest of the day deep down the rabbit hole of "toss it or keep it" and the paralysis that causes....the symbol of which is that lovely pattern in the main photo...those colours, those beads..those sequins...that elegant fringe...Oh how I love them and the glittery, gauzy, beaded poncho they came on!  I bought that poncho decades ago at a big sale at Coldwater Creek in AZ...and, of course I have never worn it....Well.... I did wear it once..to a Downton Abbey evening at a local library..but that hardly counts; being a costume is quite different than actually being worn for real...

Do you think I could toss that poncho into the Salvation Army pile? Not a chance...and to make that even harder to believe?...I have TWO of those ponchos! ( extra) ..bought together, at that same sale..(one never knows when one might need more than one glittery poncho, ne'st-ce pas?) You would think I could part with ONE of them? ..but no..they are both here to stay..for what reason, I do not know.. Just in case I might need one - or two - one day....?

Meanwhile..no packing got done...so once again, it will be a last-minute effort...throwing more than I need into a suitcase, and forgetting something really important like shampoo or pills...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.