As Promised....

...by the friendly lady-with-dog in the park last week, the trilliums have appeared and totally overshadowed the carpets of blue scilla! I went back to that park today for a walk and to check out anything new that might be in bloom - not really expecting trilliums yet - but I am glad I went, as there they were, and they won't last long... I would have hated to miss them!

Back on the home front, I have done a little edging in the front garden in hopes that it will make the yard look more tidy..but I can see it will take more than that to do the trick. The thistles are sprouting and the dandelions are almost ready to break out into their full glory... I can never seem to get a handle on this garden thing! 

I did make progress on my reading though; the pressure was on to finish my current book, The Dictionary of Lost Words, in order to start the one for book club next week. I did finish it and thoroughly enjoyed it, but then I like words.. (maybe not as much as my best friend in high school who actually read the dictionary and was surprised that I did not -  needless to say, she was a whiz at Scrabble!) This book interested me as it made me think..about words yes, but about what words make it into a dictionary and which do not..and why ..how meanings vary and change with usage, how gender inequities can play a role...It would have been a good book for our book club  - so much to discuss!

Our next book is Rizzio by Denise Mina...a novella - a very quick read! I finished it in one sitting this afternoon and really enjoyed it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.